1. Determine if you are eligible under Texas law. See §411.172 of Texas Government Code.
There are 15 requirements. For a list of those requirements, click here.
2. Obtain a request for the application form. §411.175(a).
3. Fill out request and send to DPS. §411.175(a).
4. Await preliminary decision from DPS. §411.175(a) and (b).
5. Fill out Application Form.
6. Obtain certified copy of your birth certificate or certified proof of age. §411.174(a)(3).
7. Obtain two color passport photos. §411.174(a)(2).
8. Obtain two complete sets of fingerprints after photos obtained. §411.174(a)(5).
9. Find an approved instructor for the CHL class. §411.189.
To find a Qualified Handgun Instructor who is a member of the Texas Concealed Handgun Association, click here.
For a list of Qualified Handgun Instructors by zip code, go to the DPS site.
10. Take the class (10 to 15 hours). §411.188(b).
11. Pass both:
(a)written exam (with score of 70% or better);
(b)shooting proficiency portion (with score of 70% or better) by shooting:
20 rounds at 3 yards
20 rounds at 7 yards; and
10 rounds at 15 yards.
12. Submit completed Application Form (§411.174(a)(1)), training certificate issued by your CHL instructor (§411.174(a)(7)) and appropriate fee, usually $140.00. (§411.174(a)(6))
12. Wait for results. §§411.176 and 411.177.