Case Law


CHL in Texas

Gun Groups



I understand that there are two categories of CHLs--one for revolvers and one for semi-automatics. Is this true?
by Donald Ray Burger
Attorney at Law

Section 411.179 of the Texas Government Code addresses this question. The two categories are (1) SA and (2) NSA.

SA means "any handgun, whether semi-automatic or not." SA includes revolvers.

NSA means handguns that are not semi-automatic. That includes revolvers.

Question answered 1/20/04

To return to my page on Frequently Asked Questions, click here.

To return to my page on Texas Gun Laws, click here.

[Go Back to My Home Page]

mail comments to