My wallet was stolen and my CHL was in it. What do I do?
by Donald Ray Burger
Attorney at Law
Section 411.181(g) of the Texas Government Code addresses this question. You must apply for a duplicate CHL not later than the 30th day after the date of loss, theft or destruction of your CHL.
The current fee for a duplicate license is $25.00.
If the loss, theft or destruction of your CHL occurs within 60 days of the date your CHL would otherwise expire, you can renew the license, pay the renewal fee and avoid the $25.00. See §411.181(h).
Question answered 1/20/04
To return to my page on Frequently Asked Questions, click here.
To return to my page on Texas Gun Laws, click here.
[Go Back to My Home Page]
mail comments to email@example.com